#PitchWars

Hello all!

So last week I was messaging Tobie Easton about her fabulous book Emerge (finished it recently and it was fantastic). I asked her for advice when you’re querying and she suggested I enter the #PitchWars contest. I told her thank you and that I’d probably enter it.

Well, at the time, I had no idea what that was.

Looking it up I was able to get a good understanding of what this contest is about. Basically, this is a contest where, if you have a full manuscript, you can submit it to four mentors. Those mentors will then choose from the pile of submissions who they want to be a mentor to. If your manuscript is chosen then you work with your mentor for about two months to edit and improve it. Once you’re done with that it goes up for the agent round. Agents sift through the queries and manuscripts and, if you’re lucky, might decide to offer you representation.

I think that made sense. I hope that made sense. Since I’m terrible at explaining these kinds of things I suggest you go check out this post from the creator of the contest Brenda Drake.

I know now that I’m entering the contest. Even if I don’t get chosen by a mentor it’s a great opportunity. Plus it’s FREE to enter (unless you want to donate and get to submit to two extra mentors!). A lot of stuff is not free and so I feel like taking advantage of free contests is really important. Especially when you’re a college student on a budget.

Maybe I’m the only person on the planet who didn’t know what #PitchWars was until last week. Maybe not. But I hope that if you’re reading this, you’ll at least look into the contest. It’s a great opportunity and I’d love for someone else to take advantage of it and maybe get the chance to work with a mentor. Submissions open on August 3rd so go check this out!

Alrighty well I’m off to work on my next project! LOOK AT THIS FABULOUS CONTEST!

Kailey

Author: In the Land of Pages

College Student & Author Sometimes I'll talk about music or my life but most of the time it'll be books, reading, writing & that sort of thing. Recommendations welcome anytime!

Leave a Reply

