Rejection & Random Thoughts

So rejection sucks. Shocker I know.

But here’s the thing: rejection doesn’t mean you’re not good. It means you’re not the right fit for whoever it is that rejected you. 

So far in the past month I’ve been rejected by four agents and all of the mentors I submitted to for Pitch Wars. And one thing they’ve all been sure to stress to me is that just because I’m getting rejected does not mean I am not a good writer. It just means that they are not the right fit for me. I need to keep going and find someone who is. And that’s something I wanted to share with all of you.

Now onto the random thoughts portion of this blog. In the past week I’ve moved into an apartment and started classes as a college junior. Because of this I haven’t had any time to write (boo). However one of my classes is a screenwriting class (um just a teeny bit different from novels right?) and my professor has mandated that we write for a half hour a day.

THIS IS SO IMPORTANT! Not only is it forcing me to write every day (which I should be doing anyway) but it’s forcing me to develop a routine. Writing schedules are super mega important!!! I don’t have one (even though I said I was going to for this year oops) and I know know know how much that kills so many of my ideas. 

GET ON A WRITING SCHEDULE PEOPLE!

Ok that’s all. My project list is currently three ideas deep and I’m on an internal deadline of October 9th for a first draft of one so I gotta get back to work.

Go soak in some good words or something else that sounds weird and smart. Or don’t, you know, whichever.

Kailey

Author: In the Land of Pages

College Student & Author Sometimes I'll talk about music or my life but most of the time it'll be books, reading, writing & that sort of thing. Recommendations welcome anytime!

Leave a Reply

