Food For Thought

Super, super, SUPER short post but I had a question and wanted to see what other people thought.

I finished reading Carry On by Rainbow Rowell yesterday. And while I LOVED the concept and most of the story, I felt like the ending was rushed and could have been better. 

I was talking with one of my roommates about it and she told me how she thought it read like a newbie fanfic writer wrote it: all build up and then rushed action. I thought that made sense.

One of my own theories is that because this was written as a fanfiction in a book originally, maybe she wanted to keep the feel it might retain.

No matter what the reasoning, it’s really bothering me. I was wondering if anyone else had read Carry On and could give me their opinions and thoughts on the second half of the book. What did you think of the structure when you read it? How did you feel the characters were treated? Do you think the speed of the plot was appropriate to the latter part of the story?

Anyone who has read Carry On is more than welcome to leave their opinions below! And I wanted to say that, despite my disappointment in the ending, I still really loved this book. Simon and Baz are amazing characters and I am glad that I got to read their stories. If you haven’t read it I say do but I really recommend you read Fangirl first.

Ok I’m off to my mythology class (it’s pretty cool). Bye!

Kailey

Author: In the Land of Pages

College Student & Author Sometimes I'll talk about music or my life but most of the time it'll be books, reading, writing & that sort of thing. Recommendations welcome anytime!

Leave a Reply

