Fall Contests & Some Ramblings

Hello!  My cat says hello too as she is currently butting her head against my hand as I type this. She doesn’t like to share my attention it seems.

Hope everyone is enjoying the nice weather! It’s finally fall!! Time to break out the jeans and sweaters and hot chocolate right? If not, well, too late on my part! 

I love fall. Mostly because it’s my birthday season and because of all the great holidays. I’m a huge Halloween fan. Love October and the awesome Halloween themed everything it brings. And then we get November and Thanksgiving! An entire holiday dedicated to eating? Um yes please! But really I love seeing a spending time with my family more than anything. There’s something about doing it on that day that makes it so much better than every other time of the year. 

But November has another holiday too! Did you know that? Yes oh yes it does. November has … (insert drum roll here) … NaNoWriMo!

Okay, so I guess technically that is not a holiday. It’s a contest (ta da! We’ve reached the contest portion of the post! Hooray!) and it’s a huge deal. 

In case you don’t know what NaNoWriMo is I’ll explain as best I can. NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month, and it’s basically exactly what it sounds like. During the month of November, if you are participating, you write a novel (or fanfiction if that’s your thing). You have all 30 days to write 50k words on it. You don’t edit it, you just update your word count on the website. And at the end of the month, you have a novel! A really rough novel most likely but a first draft is a HUGE accomplishment. 

You’re probably wondering, well what do I win if I finish this? Good question! You can find the list of prizes here on NaNoWriMo’s website. You can also check out the contest itself and poke around for more information if you’re interested in signing up. (If you do, feel free to add me as a writing buddy! I’m KSteward on there. Come join me as I cry over yet another book I’m writing!)

So yes, I’m participating in NaNoWriMo. If you’ve read some of my earlier posts, you’re probably thinking, “Wait, I thought she was writing a book right now! And doesn’t she have a manuscript she said she was querying?” Well you would be right! (This is where the ramblings part of the blog comes in. See aren’t I awesome at making this thing flow? What’s that? Shut up Kailey? Okay yeah probably should do that.)

I am currently more than halfway done wth my WIP. I plan to actually be done with it by next Saturday (original deadline was that but it will probably be more like late October). I have very special beta-readers in mind for this and I only get to see them two times this month and those are my only two chances to ask. So if you could please wish me luck on a) finishing the MS and b) asking them that would be really cool of you!

As far as the MS I’m querying, the original round of queries I sent out have all been rejected. I’m putting it through another round of edits before sending it out again. I have multiple betas sending me notes and two CPs who have already given me great feedback so I have a good feeling about the next time I query it.

In other news, I dropped way too much at Barnes & Noble last weekend but what else is new? Got some great books (and a coloring book) that I’m looking forward to devouring next time I get a chance.

I think that’s all I wanted to say. If anyone else is doing NaNoWriMo or has done it in the past let me know! My roommate is doing it too and we’re both sort of panicking aha. Advice welcome! 

Alrighty I’m off to go get a couple thousand words on my WIP. Bye!

Kailey

Author: In the Land of Pages

College Student & Author Sometimes I'll talk about music or my life but most of the time it'll be books, reading, writing & that sort of thing. Recommendations welcome anytime!

1 thought on “Fall Contests & Some Ramblings”

Leave a Reply

