Updates & Some Notes on Inspiration

Hello I am alive! Barely. So for whatever reason I thought this semester was going to be super easy. HA GOOD JOKE! Nope it sucks. Crazy hard. Next semester is going to be worse. Yay for me.

But no one really cares how my life is going. Nope if anyone is reading this they are doing it for the writing stuff probably. So here is that writing stuff for you.

So in my last post I talked about how I had special beta-readers in mind for my WIP. Well they all said yes! I’m so excited. I’ve sent two of them the first chapter already (I don’t think they’ve ever done this before so I wanted to ease them in)(plus they’re kind of really busy too) and I’m sending out the other three the first chapter this week. It will probably be a month until I hear from them again but I’m excited to get this process going!

You also might remember I said I wanted to have this done by, oh, October 9th? Guess what? It didn’t happen! Writer’s block is a vicious thing. It likes to attack you right when you need to make things happen. And when you’re on deadline. And, well, just about all the time if you’re me. Luckily I’m (finally) able to get my life together and (double finally) able to write consistently again. I should have the whole thing done by time NaNoWriMo rolls around. (Have you seen my post about it? Go look at it! Let’s be writing friends!)

So you are officially updated on my writing life. (If you want to be updated on my life-life follow me on twitter.) Now that you’re up to date on all the parts you care about let’s move on to the part where I explain why I’m typing this up for the world to see.

So, inspiration. Inspiration can come from a lot of places. So many of my own stories and writings come from my dreams. I find dreams to be a good source of inspiration because mine are extremely vivid. Certain details or experiences tend to unravel into entire plotlines in my mind. I always tell my friends and people I know and random people I see on the street to pay attention to their dreams because they mean something. Okay not random people on the street but you should still pay attention to your dreams! They could turn into an idea and that idea could be The Thing that gets your writing going. 

But recently I’ve learned that ideas can come from songs and music as well. Theoretically, I already knew this. But I’ve only put it into practice recently. My inspiration for my current work in progress came from the album Stories For Monday by The Summer Set (available on iTunes and at Best Buy)(they’re one of my favorite bands do not judge me for plugging them because their music is phenomenal). I misheard one of the lyrics and BOOM twenty minutes later I was plotting this story out. So music can be a catalyst for writing as well. Obviously you can’t steal stories from songs (plagiarizing is wrong)(and punishable) but if one sparks an idea go for it.

I’ve found that inspiration can also come from people watching or listening to conversations. Certain phrases you overhear or a person in a seemingly odd situation can make a great place to start a story. Build off of that. The story will come eventually. 

I know these were pretty basic places to look for inspiration but they’re also very decent (and simple and easy) places to start. Your stories are not just going to come to you fully formed inside your head (in most cases anyway). Look around you. Use your resources. DO NOT STEAL SOMEONE ELSE’S IDEAS but let other people inspire you. Stories are everywhere you look. It’s up to you to find them and write them down for the world to enjoy.

On that super cheesy note, I’m heading out. This story isn’t going to finish itself and I have betas to get it to (and a NaNo outline to finish)(and a presentation for a class to make)(but no pressure or anything). Go write something down. Even if it’s just “This Kailey girl rambles a lot about nothing.” It counts. Byeeeeeeee!

Kailey

PS – I just got back after going to a concert out of state last night so I’m exhausted. I did proofread and edit this but I’m sorry if it still doesn’t make sense. 

Author: In the Land of Pages

College Student & Author Sometimes I'll talk about music or my life but most of the time it'll be books, reading, writing & that sort of thing. Recommendations welcome anytime!

Leave a Reply

