NaNoWriMo Begins!

Plus a little randomness because it’s me.

Hello my lovely people! I hope you’re all doing well. 

It is now November! And do you know what that means? Hot chocolate of course!

Just kidding. It’s 78 degrees in this stupid city. Hot chocolate is not a thing that will be happening just yet.

But what November really means is (drumroll) NATIONAL NOVEL WRITING MONTH! Also known as NaNoWriMo (and henceforth referred to as NaNo in this post).

So it is November first. I know, congrats Kailey, you know how to read a calendar. Well, yes, yes I do. Thank you for noticing.

November the first marks the very first day of this month long contest. I’ve already updated my word count for the day and am about to tackle some more writing after I finish up here. But I couldn’t let this go by without posting something about it.

I’m not sure how many who read this are doing NaNo but I wanted to share some resources I’ve found for it.

The website itself has a lot of great resources, naturally. Make sure to check those out.

Next, I got this handy dandy word count tracker from Tera Lynn Childs. She has it available in two separate forms and I recommend using it as it has a graph and I like graphs.

Also, here and here are two good videos from my friend Lily Meade who is a really cool writer and booktuber. She makes great videos that are very helpful when it comes to writing tips and such. Her story is also a strong one and I recommend checking her out. She’s so nice too! Go watch her videos! I promise you’ll enjoy them.

Finally I wanted to remind everyone that your friends and family are good resources as well! Make sure you use your support system when things get stressful. That’s what they’re there for. The tumblr writing community has been very kind to me in the past but I understand that some people have people outside of a computer who enjoy their company. I say take advantage of that.

(I’m kidding guys I have friends in real life. Two of them are probably going to give me a look when they read this because they also happen to be my roommates. Who will be listening to me whine about NEW characters for the next month. I’m sure it’ll be a fun change of pace.)

So that’s it on the NaNo update. A few odds and ends before I end this post though.

One: I want to thank everyone who actually reads these posts. You are truly wonderful people and from the bottom of my cold, lifeless heart, thank you.

Two: I am always looking for more writer friends. Feel free to talk to me on twitter or comment here! 

Three: I want to point out again how amazing my friend Lily Meade is. We met at a Harry Potter/writing conference last summer and she is the sweetest person! She is also going through a tough time right now. Watch this video, it explains everything. She doesn’t know I’m doing this but I want people to see how strong she is. We might not be really close but I’m inspired by her and her story and I think others should know how strong this girl is. She really believes in this community she is a part of. Please watch the video.

Four: I hope everyone has a good day and sees a puppy they can pet.

That is all. I had more points but decided to cut this post short since this is a writing blog and they were not writing points.

Ok, I’m off to work on my NaNo project. Bye!

Kailey

Author: In the Land of Pages

College Student & Author Sometimes I'll talk about music or my life but most of the time it'll be books, reading, writing & that sort of thing. Recommendations welcome anytime!

Leave a Reply

