Camp NaNoWriMo & Editing

Hello people. It’s been a while.

Tomorrow begins Camp NaNoWriMo, an entire month of writing, editing, or working on a project in general. In my case, it’s 31 days of editing a project in preparation for Pitch Wars (new post on that later this month). I thought that since I’d be doing so much editing this month, I’d do a post about it.

Please note: my editing process is entirely my own. This is not my way of telling you how to edit. I just wanted to share what I go through when I sit down to work.

So, here’s how I usually edit a project.

  1. Re-read. I always go back through and re-read everything I’ve written. This is to get a feel for the story in general. Generally it’s been a while since I’ve seen the beginning of a story. This step helps me to slip back into my initial mindset, and take a quick look at what needs to be fixed most there.
  2. Make notes. Once I’ve finished going back through the story, I make notes on it. I use Word comments and track changes for this step. It allows me to see my thoughts as I go through the work. It also helps me, as I have these notes right there and don’t have to check other pages or flip between windows.
  3. Actually edit. Round one of going through and making changes begins here. The amount of changes I make depends on how much work I feel each section needs. This last project I only made light changes in the first round. Partly that has to do with the next step.
  4. Send it out to critique partners. Currently I have two CPs, and they’re both amazing. They aren’t afraid to tell me what’s wrong with my work, but they know how to keep me going as well. It’s a balance that they’ve perfected after dealing with me. I know I said this isn’t telling you how to edit (and that’s still true) but I would highly recommend getting yourself a good CP. It’s a decision you won’t regret.
  5. Repeat steps 3 & 4. It will depend on how much editing a work needs how many times I send it back out. I try not to bother my CPs all the time, because in the end it’s my work. And I’m the one who needs to make the decisions and do the writing. But having their advice at every stage is a wonderful thing that I’m very grateful for.
  6. Final read through. This is just to double-check that everything is ready. At this point all of the editing is basically done, but it never hurts to have one last look before sending it out for querying. Last minute (usually minor) changes can be made here, but that’s not what this step is for.

That’s pretty much my entire editing process. I haven’t gottent through the full range of steps for my current project. I’m in step 4 at the moment. Since I’m preparing this project for Pitch Wars, I’ll have to write a query letter at some point. Right now I’m just focused on getting this right. This process works for me, and I hope that your process works for you.

I’m about to head out to see a friend and convince her to submit to Pitch Wars (which I will hopefully be doing for all of you later this month). Have a good weekend!

Kailey

Author: In the Land of Pages

College Student & Author Sometimes I'll talk about music or my life but most of the time it'll be books, reading, writing & that sort of thing. Recommendations welcome anytime!

2 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo & Editing”

Leave a Reply

